Praying to the Toothache God

If you’re like me, afraid of the dentist, then Kathmandu definitely is not the place for you.

Near Thahiti Tole, in the Old Town, dentists compete for their customers with sometimes curious methods. If a sign of a smiling mouth isn’t enough, how about displaying a large glass bowl filled with pulled out teeth and a lower jaw? Or just row after row of dental implants? No need to have a tooth especially made for you. Just go to the dentist and have one fitted.

Image

Image

Image

My favorite, however, has to be the “Shade Guide for All;” a ring of teeth samples, each in a slightly browner shade than the previous. It makes you wonder, were the teeth samples once white? And if so, will your dental implant turn brown with time? Or is it just a given that all customers have discolored teeth?

Image

If I were unfortunate enough to have a toothache in Nepal, my solution would be much more practical. As many others before me, I would nail a coin to the wooden lump representing the toothache god. And then I would pray pray pray for a miracle.

Ouch.

Image

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. noul cod rutier 2012 download gratis
    Feb 27, 2014 @ 06:58:18

    Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this site needs
    much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to
    see more, thanks for the information!

    Reply

    • Kristi D
      Feb 27, 2014 @ 22:06:49

      Thank you very much for the compliment. And please check back, although the trip has finished, I have a few more unwritten blogs within me.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

