Getting Ready to Enter the Danger Zone!

“So you’re going to South Africa? Aren’t you scared? People get shot there every day!”

“Did you hear about the plane that crashed in Libya? It came from South Africa!”

“I heard of a guy who went swimming in South Africa, and almost died from a parasite infestation!”

Yes, I’ve heard all that. Every single day. In fact, of anything anyone says to me about travelling to South and West Africa, 98% is warnings. I shrug it off, people are always scared of what they don’t know.

But then it hit me – what if I’m being overly confident? What if I’m one of those persons who hide their head in the sand and refuse to see the dangers? Maybe. But I don’t think so. I guess only time will tell.

As I said to Eduardo, I’m not really scared of getting sick or being mugged. I hope it doesn’t happen, but it won’t be the end of the world. It won’t stop me from eating street foods, travelling to remote locations or interacting with the locals. Getting kidnapped is another story, however, so the thought of going to Northern Mali and crossing the border into Algeria through the operating grounds of the Al Qaida does raise a red flag.

Then again, when we’re there, curiosity might overpower the sense of fear.

I’m not promising nothing. And I’m not scared.

Leave a Reply

